Skip to main content

IB: International Baccalaureate High School Students (Wilson County): Home

IB Student Conditions for Use of Hackney Library

IB students must complete a contract with various conditions that must be met in order to obtain a library card to Hackney Library. The contract must be signed by the student, by the parent(s), and by the school's IB Coordinator.

Contracts must be completed each year a student is enrolled in IB courses, and a new card will be issued every year.

Computer Use in Hackney Library

Hardwired Computers:

IB students can use the library's hardwired computers, but they must be logged in by a librarian.  Stop at the circulation or reference desks for assistance.

Library Laptops:

IB students are permitted to use the library's netbooks (laptops), which can be checked out at the circ desk but need to be logged in by a librarian.

Personal Laptops:

Students may bring their own laptops for use on our wireless network.  Get the necessary password from the reference librarian to log onto the wireless network.

Welcome!

Welcome to the LibGuide for Wilson County High School IB Students!

  • The  Home tab provides basic information about IB students' use of Hackney Library, including the contract that must be signed by all parties, use of computers in Hackney Library, on-campus parking instructions, circulation policies, etc.
  • For help in creating your own Research Plan, see the Creating a Research Plan tab.  This tab includes a link to the example Research Plan used in the library orientation, as well as a link to blank plan that you can download and use with your own topics.
  • The Book/e-Book Sources tab contains information about searching the library catalog for books and e-books, as well as searching the e-book database directly.
  • The Magazine/Journal Articles tab contains tips for quickly evaluating relevant articles, databases for finding journal articles, and information on how to locate the full text of articles in journals, etc. (Journal Finder)
  • The News & Newspaper Article Databases tab contains links to online newspaper databases that provide access to local, regional, national, archival (historical), and topic-specific newspapers.
  • The Interlibrary Loan tab explains how we can borrow materials from other libraries for your use.
  • The MLA Style Resources tab contains tools to help you formulate your citations in MLA style.

If at any time you need assistance with your research, feel free to contact any reference librarian who is on duty in the library.  You also have access to help via reference online chat, via telephone (252-399-6502), and via email (reference@barton.edu).

Circulation Policies

  • Use your library card to check out materials.
  • You may check out up to 10 items at a time.
  • Return your materials on time.
  • Check out periods are usually for 28 days, with a few exceptions.
  • You must bring your library item(s) and card with you to renew items. (Maximum of two renewals allowed.)
  • Fines accrue at the rate of .05 cents per day.
  • Overdue notices will be emailed to you; because our shared circulation system is administered by Braswell Memorial Library in Rocky Mount, the overdue notices will come from "Braswell Memorial Library."  Do not ignore or delete them, as they refer to your overdue Hackney Library materials!

For more information about our circulation policies, see our circulation policies page.

Parking Instructions

  • For parking in any Barton College lot, you will need to have your Wilson County IB parking permit prominently displayed on your dashboard so that police officers on campus will know you are cleared to park in our lots.  (If you don't have a permit, please stop by the reference desk to pick one up.)
  • If you happen to forget your parking permit and you are issued a parking ticket, bring it into the library and we will contact the police about rescinding the ticket.

 

  • However, if you have parked in a no-parking or illegal parking spot, the police will not rescind your ticket and you will be responsible for paying any fines.

Off-Campus Access to Online Books and Articles

As a member of Hackney Library's borrowing community, you are permitted access to its online resources from off campus with a Barton login. The Barton username and password required for you to access online materials when not on campus is located on the back of your Barton IB library card.