Skip to main content

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS: RARE BOOK ROOM

TO USE THE COLLECTION

  • In most cases, Hackney Library’s special collections may be used between the hours of 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, by appointment.

  • To make an appointment, call 252-399-6502, and ask to speak to a librarian. Please schedule your visit with at least 24-hours notice.

  • A picture ID is required. Users must fill out a Researcher Registration Form, and abide by all “Rules For Use of Special Collections Materials” listed on this form.

Rules for Use of Special Collections Materials

K.D. KENNEDY, JR. RARE BOOK ROOM

      

 

The K.D. Kennedy, Jr. Rare Book Room contains books with a special emphasis on Scottish culture, including literature, history and philosophy, in keeping with the founders of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), Alexander Campbell and Barton Stone, both of whom were of Scottish ancestry. Other interests in this collection are materials related to Celtic language cultures, books published in Great Britain before 1640 and books published in the coastal region of North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia, before 1820.

ALSO ON DISPLAY

Part of the Rare Book Room collection of facsimiles of early English language Bibles. At left is a facsimile of the 1611 King James Bible. At right is an actual page from a first edition of this Bible.

FEATURED DISPLAY ITEM

 

Kneten Bk_Title Page

In recognition of the dedicated service of Dr. and Mrs. Norval Kneten, President and First Lady of Barton College, to the college and their support of Hackney Library, the Friends of Hackney Library donated a rare book in their honor to the holdings of the K. D. Kennedy, Jr. Rare Book Room when Dr. Kneten retired in 2015.  The book is a 1790 second edition of A Dissertation on Miracles: Containing an Examination of the Principles Advanced by David Hume, Esq; In an Essay on Miracles; with a Correspondence on the Subject by Mr. Hume, Dr. Campbell, and Dr. Blair by George Campbell.  It relates a response by Campbell to an essay on miracles by Scottish philosopher David Hume.