Skip to main content

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS: DISCIPLIANA

SCOPE OF THE COLLECTION

The Discipliana Collection houses:

  • “Regional” materials (VA, NC, and SC) directly related to Disciples of Christ history, including published monographs, correspondence and personal papers, serial publications, and congregational records
  • Materials directly related to Charles C. Ware, who founded the collection in the 1920s and curated it until 1968, including correspondence, and personal papers
  • Materials directly related to Barton Stone and other Christian Church leaders who have been instrumental in the establishment of this denomination in the region 

Anderson, Walter W. "Preserving a Heritage: Disciples Seek to Save Records of a Faith Tradition." North Carolina Christian. Spring, 2002. This article, by the late Dr. Walter Anderson, longtime history professor and curator of the collection, is a brief history of the collection. Also included is a report from the Discipliana Library Committee, dated November 24, 1997, that outlines the purposes of the collection.

CHARLES CROSSFIELD WARE


Mr. Charles Crossfield Ware. Founder and curator of the Discipliana Collection from the 1920s until 1968.

DISCIPLIANA COLLECTION: CHRISTIAN CHURCH (DISCIPLES OF CHRIST)

DIGITIZED DISCIPLIANA MATERIALS

hitchcock.jpg  A copy of the first edition of Hitchcock's

new and Complete Analysis of the Holy Bible (1870) is available for

viewing and research in the Kennedy Rare Book Room. Click on either image above to experience a digitized version