Search for Books/E-books
- Search the Barton Library Online Catalog (for books and e-books)
Remember that you may need to search the online catalog using only one keyword (such as attachment) or phrase (such as attachment theory or child development), or a broader term to find book sources on your topic. If you are too specific when searching the library catalog, you may get zero hits; if that happens, keep it more broad and try again using only one keyword. (For access to e-books from off campus, log in with your Barton network username and password.)
- Search eBooks on EBSCOhost (to search the full-text of thousands of e-books)
When searching eBooks on EBSCOhost, you can be much more specific in your search and use several keywords at a time since it searches every word of every single e-book in the thousands in its collection. (For access to e-books from off campus, log in with your Barton network username and password.)
APA Style Guide Help
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
This links to the official APA Style Guide record in our catalog, which is on reserve at the circulation desk in Hackney Library (must be used in the library).
APA Quick Reference Guide
This links to a quick guide to help with APA style citations. It is accessible online from both on and off campus. (Click the "Open" button to open the Word document.)
Search for Journal Articles
Search for articles published in academic journals on many different topics in these databases. In most of them, you will need to limit to "peer reviewed," "scholarly," or "refereed" to find only journal articles.
- SAGE (Contains journal articles only; no need to limit)
- OmniFile Full-Text Mega (Limit to "Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed)" for journal articles)
- Academic Search Complete (Limit to "Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed)" for journal articles)
- ERIC (Limit to "Peer Reviewed" for journal articles; does not contain a lot of full-text articles)
- PsycARTICLES (Limit to "Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed)" for journal articles)
- JSTOR (Contains journal articles only; no need to limit)
- To limit to full-text articles, check the "full text" limit.
(For access to article databases from off campus, log in with your Barton network username and password.)
Tips for Evaluating Articles for Relevance
To determine the relevance of a particular article quickly, do the following:
- Skim the abstract (summary) of the article to help determine relevance. (Hover over the hourglass icon in EBSCOhost databases to see it from the results list.)
- Skim the introduction and the conclusion sections of the article to help determine relevance. (Look at the full text of the article to see these sections.)
- Skim the subject headings used to describe the article to help determine relevance. (These are found in the results list and in the individual citation pages for each article.)
Creating a Research Plan
Make your search for resources more useful by using the Create a Research Plan worksheet:
Create a Research Plan (Blank)
Create a Research Plan (Example used for EDU 410)
- Pose your topic in the form of a statement OR a question.
- Choose 2-4 most important terms (keywords) drawn directly from your research statement/question and write each in the Keywords column in separate boxes.
- In the synonyms column, write at least ONE synonym, or related term (broader or narrower) for each keyword.
Tip: For ideas for synonyms/related terms, write down in the Synonyms/Related Terms column any subject headings from a helpful article to use as potential search terms.
Locate Full-Text Journals & Magazines
- Search Journal Finder
Journal Finder will identify journals, magazines, and newspapers to which Hackney Library has full text access.
- Type in the name of the journal or magazine whose articles you want to read in the full-text (such as Journal of Sports Science and Medicine). Journal Finder will then tell you whether or not we have access to that publication, and if so, in what database and for what dates.
- Or to see magazines and journals that address athletic topics, see the list of Exercise and Sport Science periodicals in Journal Finder.
(For access to Journal Finder from off campus, log in with your Barton network username and password.)