Skip to main content

K.D. KENNEDY, JR. RARE BOOK ROOM AND SPECIAL COLLECTIONS: Home

COLLECTIONS

Special Collections at Barton College is divided into four distinctive divisions: Rare Books; College Archives; North Caroliniana; and the Discipliana Collection.  These important and distinguished collections combine rare printed volumes; manuscripts; correspondence and personal papers; as well as sound and visual materials documenting Barton College, Eastern North Carolina and the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ).  Materials from Special Collections are used in exhibitions and classroom teaching, providing a great depth and richness to the Hackney Library’s ongoing teaching mission.

K.D. KENNEDY RARE BOOK ROOM

COLLEGE ARCHIVES

NORTH CAROLINIANA

DISCIPLIANA

GETTING HERE

Barton College Special Collections are located in Hackney Library, Wilson, North Carolina. Click here for directions.

K.D. KENNEDY, JR. RARE BOOK ROOM and SPECIAL COLLECTIONS

RBR.jpg

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS POLICIES

  • In most cases, Hackney Library’s special collections may be used between the hours of 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, by appointment.

  • To make an appointment, call 252-399-6502, and ask to speak to a librarian. Please schedule your visit with at least 24-hours notice.

  • A picture ID is required. Users must fill out a Researcher Registration Form, and abide by all “Rules For Use of Special Collections Materials” listed on this form.

Rules for Use of Special Collections Materials

CURRENTLY SHOWING


First Edinburgh edition of Robert Burns, Poems Chiefly in the Scottish Dialect, 1787

Title page of the Webber family's King James Bible published in 1688.

The K. D. Kennedy, Jr. Rare Book Room has recently received on loan a fragile, early edition of the King James Bible published in England in 1688.  The first translation of the Authorized King James Version of the Bible was commissioned in 1604 by British King James I and was completed in 1611.

This loaned copy of the Bible has been passed down through the family of Mrs. Webber Paxton, a member of the Friends of Hackney Library Board, making its way to the New World with family members in the early 1700s.   Webber Paxton has graciously consented to lend the book to the Rare Book Room.