Hackney Library: General/Reference: General (Multi-Discipline) Article Databases

General (Multi-Discipline) Article Databases

These are helpful general, broad-based tools to search for current full-text articles in journals, magazines and newspapers. They are searchable in many ways--by keyword, title, author, subject, etc. When accessing these from off campus, you may be prompted to enter your Barton login information.

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Collection is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere. With over 4.5 million records and more than 1,665 titles, CBCA Complete is ideal for anyone interested in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada.
Credo Reference (Academic Core) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Credo's Core General Reference Collections enable libraries to build deep, specific ebook collections from highly regarded publishers around the world. The Academic Core Collection covers the primary disciplines of Higher Education, providing students with the reference tools they need to perform research at any level of study.
With regular updates, this Collection includes over 650 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are over 1,100 short reference videos, nearly 450,000 high-resolution art images, photographs and maps across all subject areas. Subject coverage is especially diverse and equipped to address all key disciplines.
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This easy-to-use curriculum and reference resource delivers one of the largest general reference collections of periodical and digital media content designed specifically for schools and libraries of all kinds, as well as additional subject-based material.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.