Skip to main content

Hackney Library

GEN 290: Social/Political Satire in Mass Media: Fall 2018 (Noto)

Welcome to the LibGuide for GEN 290 (Online) -- Mr. Noto

This LibGuide for Mr. Noto's GEN 290 (online) course will provide, through the links in the left sidebar, tips for searching our catalog and databases for information sources generally, but also instructions for specific assignments, such as the Annotated Bibliography in MLA style, the Appendix in MLA style, and finding literary critiques for Jonathan Swift's and George Orwell's works as well.  (The Research Basics page has subcategories under it; click on those links in the left sidebar to see the content included on each.)

  • Choosing the Best Information Sources will help you determine what kind of information source (book, article, web page, etc.) will provide the kind of information you need;
  • Research Basics will give you some general tips on searching our resources successfully for information sources.  (Note that there are multiple subcategories under this page, so click on each to see the content there.)
  • Searching Tips & Tricks provides you with strategies to help refine your searching to get the best possible sources from your search(es).
  • Literary Criticism of Orwell's and Swift's Work provides suggestions for what tools to search and what terms to use in them when searching for critiques of these authors' works.
  • Annotated Bibliographies in MLA Style gives you information about what annotated bibliographies typically contain, and how to format them in MLA citation style.
  • Appendixes in MLA Style gives you tips on their content and how to format them and where to place them in your paper in MLA style.
  • MLA Style Resources provides links to many online helps and examples for formatting citations in MLA Style.
  • APA Style Resources provides links to many online helps and examples for formatting citations in APA Style.
  • Help with Grammar and Punctuation takes you to the online eBook that you will be using in class.  You can access the eBook from off campus using your Barton login information when prompted.
  • Interlibrary Loan for Online Students provides information on how we can supply you with books, articles, etc., that you need but that Hackney Library does not own.
  • Need Additional Help? provides you with contact information for the librarians at Hackney Library.  Feel free to contact any of us when you need help!