Hackney Library: PSY 345: Cognitive Psychology (Browning): Journal Articles

Tips for Evaluating Articles for Relevance

To determine the relevance of a particular article quickly, do the following:

Skim the abstract (summary) of the article to help determine relevance. (Hover over the hourglass icon in EBSCOhost databases to see it from the results list.)
Skim the introduction and the conclusion sections of the article to help determine relevance. (Look at the full text of the article to see these sections.)
Skim the subject headings used to describe the article to help determine relevance. (These are found in the results list and in the individual citation pages for each article.)

Journal Finder

Psychology Scholarly Journal Databases

These databases access scholarly journal articles (peer-reviewed or refereed) and other information sources from the psychology literature, as well as other social sciences.

Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.

Multi-Subject Database (including Psychology)

The following databases access scholarly journals and other articles from a variety of disciplines, including Psychology.

Note: To limit to peer-reviewed, refereed, or scholarly journals, you must choose one of those options to remove magazine and newspaper articles from your search.

An additional note: The JSTOR database provides journal articles only in psychology as well as other discipline's journals. However it ONLY contains older articles by design. Do not use JSTOR if you are looking for current articles.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
JSTOR (Archival: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, & IV Collections) This link opens in a new window
These collections of full-text journals (from the first issue through an average of 3-5 years prior to the current issue--*recent issues are not available*) cover the following disciplines: art, archaeology, architecture, Asian studies, business, classics, economics, education, film studies, folklore, history, law, music, performing arts, political science, psychology, public policy and administration, sociology, and religion. There are over 174 journal titles in collection I, over 125 journal titles in collection II, over 150 journal titles in collection III, and over 110 journal titles in collection IV. From a common search screen, all collections may be searched simultaneously, from the full text of the articles to the title, author, abstract, caption, and publication dates, etc.