Skip to main content

Hackney Library

Special Collections

The North Carolina Collection

Hackney Library's Special Collections will soon include a North Carolina Collection of published and archival material related to the history of our state. This collection is very much in the building stage as new historical materials are acquired and used to support the curriculum. In the meantime, acquisitions for the North Carolina Collection will be highlighted here.

civil-war--2.jpg

Robert J. Engstrom, of Wilson, recently made a generous gift to Hackney Library of a full 16 volume set of :

A History of the Civil War, by Benson J. Lossing, LL. D.  The set offers a chronological summary and record of every engagement, showing the total losses and casualties together with war maps of localities, and was compiled from the official records of the War Department. Each volume features fascimile reproductions of the official war photographs, taken at the time by Matthew B. Brady.   

This item is now available for viewing and research. To experience a digitized version of this important work, click the image above.


As I Recall, by Benjamin E. Washburn contains a fascinating chapter on the campaign to eliminate hookworm in eastern North Carolina in the early 20th century.

 

Hackney Brothers Body Company Collection

In 1854, Hackney and Sons was organized by Willis N. Hackney, as a carriage shop in Wilson, North Carolina.  In 1877, the company became known as Hackney Brothers, one of the largest manufacturers of buggies and wagons in the South.  The present name, Hackney Brothers Body Company, was adopted in 1914, and formally incorporated in 1920.  It was in these early years that the company pioneered the manufacture of school bus bodies and refrigerated bodies.  The company was sold in 1996, when this collection was given to Barton College.  Two of the presidents of Hackney Brothers Body Company, Thomas J. Hackney, Sr., and Thomas J. Hackney, Jr., were both Chairmen of the Board of Trustees at Atlantic Christian College during their tenures at Hackney Bros.  The bulk of the collection consists of capital assets (invoices), brochures, and photographs.