Skip to main content

Hackney Library

WRT 102: Composition II

Welcome!

Welcome to the LibGuide for WRT 102!

Scroll down in the left sidebar to see the following (you may have to scroll down to see all):

  • To find the information sources that best answer various research needs, take a look at Choosing the Best Information Sources. 
  • For help in creating your own Research Plan, see the Creating a Research Plan link.  This section includes a link to the several sample Research Plans on different topics, as well as a link to a blank plan that you can download and use with your own topics.  Research plans help you stay organized when you begin to search and suggest different search terms in case your original terms aren't working well.
  • The Book/E-Book Sources link contains information about searching the library catalog for books, and for searching the e-book database directly for e-books, and for searching a government documents catalog (which count as e-book sources).  The Sample Search links underneath the main Book/E-Book Sources page give you step-by-step examples of searches with screenshots for each kind of search (catalog vs. e-book database).
  • The Magazine/Journal Articles link contains tips for quickly evaluating relevant articles, databases for finding magazine and journal articles, and information on how to locate the full text of articles in journals, etc. (Journal Finder).  The sub-pages under this main page give you step-by-step examples of searches with screenshots for each type of article.
  • The Literary Criticism link contains databases, both multi-topic and literature-specific, where you can find literary critiques on various works of literature (drama, fiction, poetry, etc.).  Links to the sub-pages underneath focus on tools for finding literary criticism in books in the library, and on finding them in a variety of online databases, respectively.  Each sub-page also includes step-by-step screenshots of example searches (scroll down to see them once you're in each section).
  • The Interlibrary Loan link contains links to online forms to request books and articles that our library doesn't have from other libraries.  (Note:  While we can't order physical print books for you during this time, we can usually order online articles that we can email to you.)
  • The MLA Style Resources link contains tools to help you formulate your citations in MLA style.  The sub-page under this MLA Style page has more specific applications of MLA style (such as in annotated bibliographies, literature reviews, plus sample papers, etc.)

‚ÄčRemember, if at any time you need assistance with your research, feel free to contact us (our contact info is here), or any of the other reference librarians on duty in the library.  You also have access to help via telephone (252-399-6502), and via email (reference@barton.edu).