Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hackney Library

WRT 102: Composition II

Search for (Print) Books through our Library Catalog

Tips:

  • Remember that you may need to search the online catalog using only one keyword (such as immigration) or phrase (such as gun control), or a broader term to find book sources on your topic.
  • If you are too specific when searching the library catalog, you may get zero hits; if that happens,
    • Keep your search more broad and try again using only one keyword.  (For access to e-books from off campus, log in with your Barton network username and password.)
  • Click on the "Sample Search for a Book" link in the sidebar to the left for a step-by-step guide.

Search for Books/E-books via E-book Databases

Tip:

When searching Ebook Central, you can be much more specific in your search and use several keywords at a time since it searches every word of every single e-book in the many thousands in its collection.  (For access to e-books from off campus, log in with your Barton network username and password.)

Tips:

  • When searching the "eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)" database, you can be much more specific in your search and use several keywords at a time since it searches every word of every single e-book in the thousands in its collection.  (For access to e-books from off campus, log in with your Barton network username and password.)
  • For a sample search in this database for an ebook, click on the "Sample Search for an E-Book in the 'Ebook Collection (EBSCOhost)'" database link in the left sidebar.

Tip:

After searching the CGP for your topic, click in your results list on the permanent URL (begins with http://purl....) to see the full text of the document (the document is usually in PDF format displayed in Adobe Acrobat Reader).  (For access to government documents through this database from off campus, log in with your Barton network username and password.  These documents can also be accessed on the GPO web site from off campus without a Barton login.)

Search Electronic Reference Book Collections