Skip to main content

Hackney Library

Information Literacy Assessment: 100 and 200 Level Courses

1. If you were researching "the impact of popular media on violence in society," which of the following search terms would be most effective to use in a research database?

1. If you were researching "the impact of popular media on violence in society," which of the following search terms would be most effective to use in a research database?
popular media: 0 votes (0%)
media violence impact: 5 votes (71.43%)
television radio internet murders: 0 votes (0%)
violence in society causes: 0 votes (0%)
crime statistics causes: 2 votes (28.57%)
Total Votes: 7

2. You did a search in a research database for "ernest hemingway" and got over 2,000 results. Which of the following will help you refine your search?

2. You did a search in a research database for "ernest hemingway" and got over 2,000 results. Which of the following will help you refine your search?
Switch to a general source, such as a full text newspaper database: 2 votes (28.57%)
Check to be sure that you have not limited to full text. If you have, take the limit off.: 0 votes (0%)
Consider switching to an author who few scholars have written about: 0 votes (0%)
Add another search term related to your topic, such as "war" or "love": 4 votes (57.14%)
Use only "hemingway" for your search: 1 votes (14.29%)
Total Votes: 7

3. Your professor has specified that any sources cited in your paper should come from reputable, scholarly sources. Which one of the following strategies would NOT be effective at meeting this requirement?

3. Your professor has specified that any sources cited in your paper should come from reputable, scholarly sources. Which one of the following strategies would NOT be effective at meeting this requirement?
Being careful to look at only websites that are .org or .gov: 3 votes (100%)
Using the library's "OneSearch" tool, and selecting from "Scholarly Articles" and "Books": 0 votes (0%)
Searching in a scholarly journal database, such as JSTOR: 0 votes (0%)
Searching in a general database, such as Academic Search Complete, and limiting to "Peer Reviewed Journals": 0 votes (0%)
Using print and electronic books published by university presses, or whose authors have scholarly credentials: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 3

4. Your professor has asked you to research the rate of global warming over the past 100 years. Which of the following would likely contain useful information?

4. Your professor has asked you to research the rate of global warming over the past 100 years. Which of the following would likely contain useful information?
The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) website: 0 votes (0%)
Books located in the library's online catalog with the search: global warming trends: 1 votes (25%)
The U.S. Census Bureau website: 0 votes (0%)
The first two choices above: 3 votes (75%)
The first three choices above: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 4

5. Which of the following information will provide the information you need to cite your information properly?

5. Which of the following information will provide the information you need to cite your information properly?
Author, journal title, article title, date of publication, volume and number, page numbers (for a print journal): 3 votes (100%)
Author, journal title, article title, date of search, name of search engine (e.g. "Google"): 0 votes (0%)
Author, journal title, article title, date of search, name of browser (e.g. Microsoft Explorer): 0 votes (0%)
Author, book title, publisher, date of publication, name of library where you accessed the book: 0 votes (0%)
Author, journal title, Internet address: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 3