Skip to main content

Hackney Library

Special Collections

Barton College Special Collections featuring the K.D. Kennedy, Jr. Rare Book Room

RBR.jpg

Special Collections at Barton College is divided into four distinctive divisions:
  • The K.D. Kennedy, Jr. Rare Book Room
  • The College Archives
  • The North Carolina Collection
  • The Discipliana Collection

These important and distinguished collections combine rare printed volumes; manuscripts; correspondence and personal papers; as well as sound and visual materials documenting Barton College, Eastern North Carolina and the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ).  The North Carolina Collection also houses the Hackney Brothers Body Company Collection.  Materials from Special Collections are used in exhibitions and classroom teaching, providing a great depth and richness to the Hackney Library’s ongoing teaching mission.

Currently Showing

Cover of Poems Chiefly in the Scottish Dialect

Cover of first Edinburgh edition of Robert Burns, Poems Chiefly in the Scottish Dialect, 1787

Title Page of Robert Burns Book

Title Page of first Edinburgh edition of Robert Burns, Poems Chiefly in the Scottish Dialect, 1787

Open Paxton Bible

Webber Paxton Bible

The K. D. Kennedy, Jr. Rare Book Room has recently received on loan a fragile, early edition of the King James Bible published in England in 1688. The first translation of the Authorized King James Version of the Bible was commissioned in 1604 by British King James I and was completed in 1611.

This loaned copy of the Bible has been passed down through the family of Mrs. Webber Paxton, a member of the Friends of Hackney Library Board, making its way to the New World with family members in the early 1700s. Webber Paxton has graciously consented to lend the book to the Rare Book Room.