A user-friendly primer to the essential techniques of quantitative field ecology, or paleoecology, integrating the intuitive approach of the field researcher with the rational analytical tools of the statistician. Designed as a comprehensive introduction and handy methodological reference for students and professionals alike, this book is filled with lucid explanations, real-world examples, practice problem sets, more than one hundred illustrations and tables, and many applications to research issues of current concern.
This book explains the role of simple biological model systems in the growth of molecular biology. Essentially the whole history of molecular biology is presented here, tracing the work in bacteriophages in E. coli, the role of other prokaryotic systems, and also the protozoan and algal models - Paramecium and Chlamydomonas, primarily - and the move into eukaryotes with the fungal systems - Neurospora, Aspergillus and yeast. Each model was selected for its appropriateness for asking a given class of questions, and each spawned its own community of investigators. Some individuals made the transition to a new model over time, and remnant communities of investigators continue to pursue questions in all these models, as the cutting edge of molecular biological research flowed onward from model to model, and onward into higher organisms and, ultimately, mouse and man.
The ABC-CLIO E-book Collection is a database of e-books focusing on history and literature. The database is browseable by title, subject, author, and publication year. It includes e-books from these series (formerly listed on our web page as individual databases by the same names): Daily Life Through History, Critical Companions to Popular Contemporary Authors, Historic Events of the 20th Century, Literature in Context, as well as American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography.
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills. NOTE: To access this resource you will need to authenticate through the proxy server from on campus as well as off campus.
This database consist of 2 major collections: "eBooks on EBSCOhost" (formerly NetLibrary) is a collection of over 24,000 online electronic books, most of which are new or recent titles. "eBooks Academic Collection" is a package, including titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, MIT Press, Harvard University Press and many others. Subjects include: Art, Business & Economics, Education, Language Arts & Discipline, Literary Criticism, Medical, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Poetry, Political Science, Religion, Social Science, Technology & Engineering.
Maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information, Bookshelf is a growing collection of full-text biomedical books that can be searched directly by typing a concept into the textbox on the site. Subjects covered by its books include health care, evidence-based medicine, health policy, comparative effectiveness research, and public health. It is also accessible under "Books: Online Books" through the Entrez site.