Hackney Library: BUS 250: Business Communication: eBooks

eBook Database Collections

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills. NOTE: To access this resource you will need to authenticate through the proxy server from on campus as well as off campus.

Tip:

When searching Ebook Central, you can be much more specific in your search and use several keywords at a time since it searches every word of every single e-book in the many thousands in its collection. (For access to e-books from off campus, log in with your Barton network username and password.)

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database consist of 2 major collections: "eBooks on EBSCOhost" (formerly NetLibrary) is a collection of over 24,000 online electronic books, most of which are new or recent titles. "eBooks Academic Collection" is a package, including titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, MIT Press, Harvard University Press and many others. Subjects include: Art, Business & Economics, Education, Language Arts & Discipline, Literary Criticism, Medical, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Poetry, Political Science, Religion, Social Science, Technology & Engineering.

Tips:

When searching the "eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)" database, you can be much more specific in your search and use several keywords at a time since it searches every word of every single e-book in the thousands in its collection. (For access to e-books from off campus, log in with your Barton network username and password.)
For a sample search in this database for an ebook, click on the "Sample Search for an E-Book in the 'Ebook Collection (EBSCOhost)'" database link in the left sidebar.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) This link opens in a new window
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keywords, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options. The Catalog is housed on the GPO (Government Publications Office) web site.

Tip:

After searching the CGP for your topic, click in your results list on the permanent URL (begins with http://purl....) to see the full text of the document (the document is usually in PDF format displayed in Adobe Acrobat Reader). (For access to government documents through this database from off campus, log in with your Barton network username and password. These documents can also be accessed on the GPO web site from off campus without a Barton login.)