It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Willis N. Hackney Library
News: Newspaper Articles, News Web Sites, Wire Services & Feeds, Etc.
A Guide to News Library Resources Available through Barton College
This index is produced by staff at Joyner Library at ECU. It selectively indexes articles in North Carolina periodicals which are not covered by the standard commercial indexes. It is a good place to look for articles about North Carolina history and culture.
The North Carolina Newspaper Locator database, reflecting the microfilm holdings of the Government & Heritage Library, contains listings for nearly 2,000 unique North Carolina newspaper titles dating from 1751 to today. Free to all and of particular interest to North Carolina genealogists and historians, this database locates newspapers in time and geographic space. Users can search for titles by specific counties or those surrounding them, city, date or date range, or by a newspaper title itself. Once a newspaper has been located, users may request the microfilm reels through their local library's interlibrary loan service. The State Library of North Carolina lends newspaper microfilm to libraries throughout the continental United States.
The North State Journal is North Carolina’s only statewide newspaper. Founded in 2015, the North State Journal’s mission is to delve deep, engage with truth, help citizens find common ground, and fill a void in North Carolina’s media landscape.
This collection from the Library of Congress Chronicling America site provides access to 46 historical newspapers published in North Carolina ranging from 1836 to 1922. They are listed alphabetically by newspaper title. Some issues are available in the full text.