Databases

• Purchased by the library.
• Content is reviewed and recommended by librarians.
• Information is organized.
• Information is stable.

Search Engines

• Free to anyone with computer access.
• No review standards with regard to content.
• Information is not organized.
• Information is not stable; locations and content continually change.

What is a database?

• Databases are usually collections of journal and magazine articles, dissertations, reviews, and abstracts.
• A database consists of individual records. Each record contains all of the information in the database for an individual item, which provides a brief description of that item.
• Each record is composed of fields. A field defines the individual elements of each record.

What is a search engine?

• A search engine is a service that utilizes a computer program to search the Internet and identify items that match the characters and keywords entered by a user.

Why use a database?

• Using a database allows users to search for information in an organized collection. The user benefits from this organization because it provides more relevant results, through the use of subject headings and descriptors. Users can also search for keywords in specific fields, such as author and title, and limit their results using various criteria.
• Databases also provide information in known sources, for example, printed magazines and journals. The content of databases has undergone a review process and the information is more reliable than information found on the Internet. Often databases provide access to full-text magazine and journal articles.

Why use a search engine?

• Search engines are useful for finding information on organizations, groups, and personal web pages related to a topic. They can also be used for finding articles, but it can be difficult to narrow down results, find relevant material, and assess the legitimacy of information found on the Internet. It is especially important to be wary when using Internet sources, as there is are no quality control mechanisms that verify the validity of information on individual web pages.