The Military Database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. An important benefit of the Military Database is its content diversity. Included are scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
The Council on Foreign Relations, an independent non-partisan thank-tank and publisher, provides links on its Terrorism page to a variety of sources, including primary documents, op-ed pieces, testimony, interviews, and more relating to terrorism. The information is sortable by date, publication, and by region.
This site, which is maintained by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health, gives an overview of issues relating to biodefense and bioterrorism, including an overview section, plus sections specific conditions, related issues, clinical trials, research, research articles, organizations, and law and policy.
The Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is an open-source database including information on terrorist events (including more than 52,000 bombings, 14,400 assassinations, and 5,600 kidnappings) around the world from 1970 through 2012 (with additional annual updates planned for the future). Unlike many other event databases, the GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as transnational and international terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period and now includes more than 113,000 cases. For each GTD incident, information is available on the date and location of the incident, the weapons used and nature of the target, the number of casualties, and--when identifiable--the group or individual responsible. The National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START) makes the GTD available via this online interface.
The Terrorism & Preparedness Data Resource Center (TPDRC) is housed at the University of Michigan's Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). TPDRC archives and distributes data collected by government agencies, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and researchers about the nature of intra- (domestic) and international terrorism incidents, organizations, perpetrators, and victims; governmental and nongovernmental responses to terror, including primary, secondary, and tertiary interventions; and citizen's attitudes towards terrorism, terror incidents, and the response to terror. It also organizes and streamlines access to extant research and administrative data from across the world that are relevant to the study of terrorism and the response to terrorism for descriptive and scientific analysis by academics and researchers.
Stratfor is a geopolitical intelligence and advisory firm that examines world affairs by tapping into a worldwide network of contacts and mining vast amounts of open-source information. Analysts then interpret the information by looking through the objective lens of geopolitics to determine how developments affect different regions, industries and markets in more than 175 countries. Topics examined include economics/finance, energy, military, politics, and terrorism/security. The site is browsable by broad subjects (such as analysis, topics, regions, forecasts, products and services) and is searchable as well; it also includes a media center with maps and videos.
In the days immediately following September 11, 2001, the Social Science Research Council invited a wide range of leading social scientists from around the world to write short essays for an online forum, "After September 11." Written against two-week deadlines when it was difficult to come by sure knowledge in a time of quickly changing circumstances, the forum's essays would be downloaded millions of times and used extensively by teachers and journalists. A decade later, contributors to the original forum were asked to reflect on what they wrote and to explore what has changed and what remains the same since those harrowing times. The result is this extraordinary digital collection of new essays, "10 Years after September 11." Short and written in a style that is accessible to both academic and non-academic readers, the essays offer deep, expert analysis of developments since 9/11 from the perspectives of the social sciences.