Hackney Library: North Carolina: Other Resources

North Carolina Statistics

LINC: Log Into North Carolina This link opens in a new window
This NC State Data Center database provides North Carolina demographic and statistical data ranging from the latest census data to projected county populations and more, available in customized and pre-formatted reports.
North Carolina Census Data: 1960-1980 This link opens in a new window
This digital project from the State Library of North Carolina and the North Carolina State Data Center makes North Carolina census data from the 1960s, 1970s, and 1980s full-text searchable online for the first time. The collection, housed in file folders at the State Data Center since it was created from federal census data decades ago, contains invaluable county- and state-level demographics information (including labor, population, housing, and economic conditions) and enumeration district maps from 80 of North Carolina's 100 counties. The majority of the data dates from the 1980 Census, however, the maps, as well as counts of population and housing data are available from the 1960 Census, and "Selected Characteristics" for 99 of 100 counties are available from the 1970 Census.

Local/Regional Information

North Carolina City Directories This link opens in a new window
This electronic resource from the NC Digital Heritage Center includes access to over 300 North Carolina city and town directories ranging from the 1860s to the 1940s, including Wilson County. Entries are browsable by city, by county, and by date.

North Carolina Literature

Library of Southern Literature This link opens in a new window
Part of UNC-Chapel Hill's Documenting the American South site, the Library currently includes over 50 digitized complete texts of significant literary works of the South published up to 1920, including novels, memoirs, slave narratives, poetry and nonfiction no longer in print. Up to 100 digitized texts are planned.

Other Resources About North Carolina

Scroll down to see resources concerning the following about North Carolina:

State Information
North Carolina Statistics
North Carolina Maps
Local/Regional Information
North Carolina State Government
North Carolina Literature
North Carolina Laws/Court Decisions

State Information

Colonial and State Records of North Carolina This link opens in a new window
Part of UNC-Chapel-Hill's Documenting the American South site, the Colonial and State Records of North Carolina site has been an extraordinary resource for students of North Carolina's history for over one hundred years. The series includes documents and materials from throughout the country and from several European repositories covering the earliest days of North Carolina's settlement by Europeans through the ratification of the United States Constitution.
DigitalNC: North Carolina's Digital Heritage This link opens in a new window
The North Carolina Digital Heritage Center is a statewide digitization and digital publishing program housed in the North Carolina Collection at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The Digital Heritage Center works with cultural heritage institutions across North Carolina to digitize and publish historic materials online via DigitalNC, including rare and unique collections of libraries, archives, museums, historic sites, and others. They may be browsed a number of ways (by type, by location, by collection, etc.).
NCpedia This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This site, which is maintained by the Information Services Branch of the State Library of North Carolina, gives an overview of the people, the government, the history, and the resources of North Carolina. The information is organized into the following broad information categories: Counties and Communities, Education, Geography, Health and Society, History, People, State Government, and State Symbols. Most of these categories offer an opportunity to select either more specific or additional information on a particular topic.
NC.gov This link opens in a new window
This official web site of the State of North Carolina provides information on business, employment, education, state government, health, land and environment, transportation, safety, travel, and culture.
North Carolina State Publications Collection This link opens in a new window
Created and maintained by the State Library of North Carolina, this digital collection contains current and historical North Carolina state publications. The collection includes informational brochures and pamphlets, various reports (annual, biennial, technical, statistical, etc.), serials (newsletters, checklists, magazines, etc.), handbooks, studies, and a variety of other information resources produced by North Carolina state government. The focus of the collection is on state government publications from 2002 to the current date, but it also features historical North Carolina publications of enduring value that have been scanned from their original print format. New publications are added to the collection monthly.
State Library of North Carolina This link opens in a new window
Established in 1812, the State Library of North Carolina is currently made up of three parts: 1) Government and Heritage Library (print and digital information about North Carolina; research expertise); 2) Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped (serving blind and physically handicapped readers); and 3) Libraries and Librarians (supporting libraries throughout the state). This site provides links to catalogs for those libraries as well as information about its programs and services.The State Library is part of the North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources.

North Carolina Maps

Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) for North Carolina This link opens in a new window
Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) for North Carolina delivers detailed property and land-use records that depict the grid of everyday life in 158 North Carolina towns and cities across a century of change.
North Carolina Maps This link opens in a new window
North Carolina Maps is a comprehensive, online collection of historic maps of the Tar Heel State. Featuring maps from three of the state's largest map collections -- the North Carolina State Archives, the North Carolina Collection at UNC-Chapel Hill, and the Outer Banks History Center -- North Carolina Maps provides an unprecedented level of access to these materials. North Carolina Maps contains more than 3,000 maps, ranging in date from the late 1500s to 2000, and including detailed maps for each of North Carolina's one hundred counties.

North Carolina State Government

North Carolina State Agencies List This link opens in a new window
Part of the official web site of North Carolina, this page lists home pages for North Carolina state government departments and agencies.
North Carolina Department of Revenue--Tax Forms This link opens in a new window
North Carolina downloadable tax forms and instructions can be obtained here.
North Carolina State Government Web Site Archives (WSA) This link opens in a new window
This site is composed of web sites created by North Carolina's state agencies. The WSA currently contains archived web sites back to 1996, and it is updated on an ongoing basis. In the WSA you can find things like historically significant photographs and videos; Boards and Commissions meeting minutes; publications that were only available on the Web; and governmental policies. In addition, this site includes an active social media archive with tens of thousands of social media records from Facebook and Twitter. This archive supplements the social media found in our Web Site Archives (WSA).

North Carolina Law/Court Decisions

North Carolina General Statutes This link opens in a new window
This is an online version of the general statutes, or laws, for North Carolina. It does not include annotations.
North Carolina Appellate Courts--Court Opinions This link opens in a new window
Includes Supreme Court opinions and Court of Appeals opinions from 1998 to the present.