Religion/Philosophy

General Collection
15-volume encyclopedia of world religions.

The content of the e-book is exactly the same as the print version above. It's accessible from off campus with your Barton login.

General Collection
10-volume general philosophy encyclopedia published by Thomson Gale/Macmillan Reference, in its 2nd edition.

TheRoutledge Encyclopedia of Philosophyis the most ambitious international philosophy project in many years. Edited by Edward Craig and assisted by thirty specialist subject editors, the REP consists of ten volumes of the world's most eminent philosophers writing for the needs of students and teachers of philosophy internationally. The REP is a project on an unparalleled scale: Over 2000 entries ranging from 500 to 15,000 words in length - thematic, biographical and national 10 volumes consisting of over 5 million words of text plus considerable bibliographic material A Chief Editor and thirty specialist Subject Editors from across the world Over 1200 authors from all over the world. The importance of the REP is not to be found just in the sheer size of the project but also in its breadth of subject matter. It covers: The core of most Anglo-American philosophy - the metaphysical, epistemological and logical questions The usual menu of ethics, political philosophy and the history of philosophy The philosophy of other cultures - from Chinese, Arabic and Jewish philosophy to the philosophy of Africa and Latin America The most impressive range of authors have been gathered together on this unique project: William Alston, Roderick Chisolm, Fred Dretske, Joel Feinberg, Sandra Harding, Larry Laudan, Martha Nussbaum, Richard Popkin, Richard Rorty, Alan Ryan, Gyatri Chakravorty Spivak, Stephen Stich, Patrick Suppes and Bernard Williams, to name just a few. Also available online: www.rep.routledge.com

This title looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.

The Historical Dictionary of Islamic Fundamentalism provides a comprehensive and detailed examination into Islam as a religion, Islam as a government, and Islam as a way of life. It is a thorough analysis of various groups, events, movements, key figures, and dogmas that have influenced contemporary Islamic Fundamentalism. In this book, Dr. Guidère provides an in-depth look at Islamic Fundamentalism through a detailed chronology, an introductory essay, an Arabic-to-English glossary, and an extensive bibliography. The main portion of the book consists of the dictionary section, which has over 500 cross-referenced entries on groups, events, movements, key figures, dogmas, ideologies, and movements of the 20th and 21st centuries. This book is an excellent access point for high school students, college students, and anyone interested in a better understanding of the world of Islam.