It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A guide to broad library resources covering a range of subjects available through Barton College.
This NC State Data Center database provides North Carolina demographic and statistical data ranging from the latest census data to projected county populations and more, available in customized and pre-formatted reports.
Information on salaries and benefits for county government positions from 2001 through the current year is provided by the MAPS group of the School of Government at UNC-Chapel Hill. The data appears in descending order by year, beginning with the most current year.
This digital project from the State Library of North Carolina and the North Carolina State Data Center makes North Carolina census data from the 1960s, 1970s, and 1980s full-text searchable online for the first time. The collection, housed in file folders at the State Data Center since it was created from federal census data decades ago, contains invaluable county- and state-level demographics information (including labor, population, housing, and economic conditions) and enumeration district maps from 80 of North Carolina's 100 counties. The majority of the data dates from the 1980 Census, however, the maps, as well as counts of population and housing data are available from the 1960 Census, and "Selected Characteristics" for 99 of 100 counties are available from the 1970 Census.
NC Health Info offers access to web sites of local health services, providers and programs serving residents of North Carolina. Through its connection with MedlinePlus, a service of the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health, users of the site can get information about conditions, diseases and wellness, and find web sites of local health services, programs and providers throughout North Carolina.
Provides access to official statistics published by over 100 federal government agencies on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more.
Statistical Abstract data presented here ranges from our most recent edition to the historical abstracts compiled throughout the decades. Some of the data were scanned as an effort to make historical abstract information available to the public. The display of data will continue as historical records become available.
Includes daily updated statistical information on countries in the European Union (EU) and the "euro-zone," including general/regional stats, and those on the economy/finance, population, industry, agriculture, international trade, etc.
This site includes over 5,700 statistics on countries around the world, which have been culled from reliable sources such as the CIA World Factbook, UN, World Health Organization, World Bank, UNESCO, and more. The two primary ways to search the site are via the "Top Stats" or "Countries A - Z" links at the top of the page. Statistics are grouped into some 30 major categories, including agriculture, economy, education, health, labor, lifestyle, military, religion, and sports. Country information includes overviews for each country, with information on government, economy, religion, flags, etc. The site also includes some 7,000 historical and current maps of the world that can either be printed or imported into documents.
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system. The data cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
ICPSR stores and curates (adds value, maximizes access, and ensures long-term preservation) to scientific data so others can reuse the data and validate research findings. It maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences, hosting 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. An international consortium of more than 700 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.