With the advent of health care reform and an emphasis on reducing health care costs, health promotion and disease prevention is a priority in nursing care. Be prepared with Health Promotion Throughout the Life Span, 8th Edition, your comprehensive guide to major health promotion concepts. Featuring practical guidance - including boxes on diversity awareness, evidence-based practice, innovative practice, hot topics, and quality and safety as well as case studies and care plans - our experienced authors give you all the tools you need to stay current on the latest research and trends in health promotion. Extensive coverage of growth and development throughout the lifespan emphasizes the unique problems and health promotion needs of each age and stage of development. Separate chapters on each population - group, individual, family, and community - stress the unique issues faced when providing care to each group. Evidence-Based Practice boxes emphasize current research efforts and opportunities in health promotion. Hot Topics and Innovative Practice boxes engage students' interest by introducing significant issues, trends, and creative programs and projects in health promotion practice. Diversity Awareness boxes address various cultural perspectives and provide important information that needs to be considered in planning care. Case studies and care plans present realistic situations that challenge students to reflect upon important health promotion concepts. Think About It boxes dig deeper into the chapter topic and encourage critical thinking. Numerous pedagogical features such as objectives, key terms, and textual summaries highlight the most important concepts and terms in each chapter. NEW! Healthy People 2020 boxes include related goals and objectives for each chapter to address emerging health issues and health priorities over the next decade. NEW! Quality and Safety scenarios include examples and suggestions to encourage quality and safety in nursing. NEW! Redesigned Nutrition chapter highlights the new Dietary Guidelines for Americans and the MyPlate food guide. NEW! Standard headings in the growth and development chapters reinforce the concepts of Gordon's Functional Health Patterns.
This easy-to-read, user-friendly text explores the full range of basic topics typically covered in research courses in exercise science, kinesiology, and physical education. The book provides the information and skills needed to write effective research proposals and theses; read, assess, interpret, and apply published research; and understand how to conduct basic studies in health, physical education, exercise science, athletic training, and recreation.
Ensuring America's Health explains why the US health care system offers world-class medical services to some patients but is also exceedingly costly with fragmented care, poor distribution, and increasingly bureaucratized processes. Based on exhaustive historical research, this work traces how public and private power merged to favor a distinctive economic model that places insurance companies at the center of the system, where they both finance and oversee medical care. Although the insurance company model was created during the 1930s, it continues to drive health care cost and quality problems today. This wide-ranging work not only evaluates the overarching political and economic framework of the medical system but also provides rich narrative detail, examining the political dramas, corporate maneuverings, and forceful personalities that created American health care as we know it. This book breaks new ground in the fields of health care history, organizational studies, and American political economy.
The first edition of Community Mental Healthquickly established itself as one of the most comprehensive and timely books about mental health practice in community settings. Readers will find that this new edition is also on the leading edge of the field, providing the most up-to-date research and treatment models in the field. Experts from a wide range of professions - social work, nursing, psychology, psychiatry, public health, sociology, and law - explore the major trends, best practices, and policy issues shaping community mental health services today. Coverage of each topic shifts the focus from management to recovery in the treatment of chronically mentally ill patients. Coverage of organizational and policy issues gives students a head start on mastering the overarching factors that shape their field. This book offers the greatest breadth of coverage available, including hot-button topics like the following: evidence-based treatments neuropsychiatric perspectives Diversity Substance abuse New chapters cover a variety of special populations, which ensures students are prepared to work with a wide range of issues, including: returning veterans military families and families of the mentally ill people affected by the "Great Recession" teenagers children the homeless Students preparing to become mental health professionals, practitioners in community mental health settings, and policy planners and advocates engaged in the evaluation and development of programs in the human services will find this text to be an invaluable resource in their training and work. A collection of supplemental resources are available online to benefit both instructors and students. Instructors will find PowerPoint slides and test banks to aid in conducting their courses, and students can access a library of helpful learning activities, suggested readings and resources, and a glossary of important terms. These materials can be accessed at http://www.routledgementalhealth.com/cw/rosenberg.
The ABC-CLIO E-book Collection is a database of e-books focusing on history and literature. The database is browseable by title, subject, author, and publication year. It includes e-books from these series (formerly listed on our web page as individual databases by the same names): Daily Life Through History, Critical Companions to Popular Contemporary Authors, Historic Events of the 20th Century, Literature in Context, as well as American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography.
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills. NOTE: To access this resource you will need to authenticate through the proxy server from on campus as well as off campus.
This database consist of 2 major collections: "eBooks on EBSCOhost" (formerly NetLibrary) is a collection of over 24,000 online electronic books, most of which are new or recent titles. "eBooks Academic Collection" is a package, including titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, MIT Press, Harvard University Press and many others. Subjects include: Art, Business & Economics, Education, Language Arts & Discipline, Literary Criticism, Medical, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Poetry, Political Science, Religion, Social Science, Technology & Engineering.