Nursing

Learn fundamental nursing principles, concepts, and skills with ease! Fundamentals of Nursing, 8th Edition includes accurate, cutting-edge content, active learning strategies, and the latest evidence-based research to help you excel in your classes and prepare for success in today''s competitive nursing field. An expert author team led by Patricia Potter and Anne Griffin Perry provides a trusted, comprehensive resource, thoroughly reviewed by nursing experts and peers to ensure the most accurate content. With practical, fully integrated study support, this edition makes it easier than ever to build the understanding and clinical reasoning essential to providing excellent patient care. UNIQUE! Clear, streamlined writing style makes complex material more approachable. UNIQUE! Critical Thinking Models in each clinical chapter show you how to apply the nursing process for successful clinical outcomes. The 5-step nursing process provides a consistent framework for clinical practice. More than 55 skills demonstrations guide you through each step for administering safe nursing care. More than 20 Procedural Guidelines clearly outline basic skill instructions. Unexpected Outcomes and Related Interventions for each skill alert you to potential problems and appropriate actions. Planning sections on Goals and Outcomes, Setting Priorities, and Teamwork and Collaboration help you plan and prioritize care. Implementation sections detail care guidelines for health promotion, acute care, and continuing care across all practice settings. Delegation coverage clarifies which skills can or cannot be delegated. Safe Patient Handling Guidelines help you ensure compliance with patient safety regulations. More than 25 Care Plans help you understand how to apply the 5-step nursing process to address individual patient problems. Patient Teaching boxes help you develop and implement successful strategies for patient education. Nursing Assessment Questions boxes help you phrase questions for more effective patient communication. Cultural Aspect of Care boxes provide practical guidelines for managing patients'' cultural needs and preferences. Focus on Older Adult boxes highlight key aspects of nursing assessment and care for this growing population. Key Points summarize important content for more efficient study. Key terms at the beginning of each chapter include convenient page references to complete definitions. More than 25 Concept Maps illustrate care planning for clients with multiple nursing diagnoses. NOC outcomes, NIC interventions, and the latest NANDA diagnoses incorporated into Care Plans reflect national care standards you''ll encounter in practice. UNIQUE! Caring for the Cancer Survivor chapter prepares you for the special challenges involved in caring for cancer survivors who still face physical and emotional effects of the illness and its treatment. Engaging study tools on the Evolve companion website reinforce your understanding with convenient access to skills video clips, skills checklists, chapter audio summaries, answers to practice questions, a calculations tutorial, a searchable audio glossary, a Spanish/English glossary, and more. NEW and UNIQUE! Building Competency boxes help you apply QSEN (Quality & Safety Education for Nurses) competencies to realistic clinical situations. NEW and UNIQUE! Expanded Evidence-Based Practice boxes highlight the importance of current clinical research in daily practice. NEW! Case studies in all clinical chapters allow you to practice using care plans and concept maps to perform clinical application exercises. NEW and UNIQUE! Clinical Application questions test your understanding of clinical practices. NEW! Skill guidelines for blood glucose monitoring help you ensure accurate readings when performing this common skill. NEW! Content on violence, genetics/genomics, compassion fatigue, bullying, and the accreditation process addresses current concerns in nursing practice. NEW! More than 725 review questions test your retention of key chapter concepts. NEW! Three comprehensive fundamentals practice exams and a calculations tutorial on the companion Evolve website help you assess your understanding. More than 100 NEW photos clarify procedures and familiarize you with the latest clinical equipment. NEW! Glossary provides quick, convenient access to definitions for all key terms.

With the advent of health care reform and an emphasis on reducing health care costs, health promotion and disease prevention is a priority in nursing care. Be prepared with Health Promotion Throughout the Life Span, 8th Edition, your comprehensive guide to major health promotion concepts. Featuring practical guidance - including boxes on diversity awareness, evidence-based practice, innovative practice, hot topics, and quality and safety as well as case studies and care plans - our experienced authors give you all the tools you need to stay current on the latest research and trends in health promotion. Extensive coverage of growth and development throughout the lifespan emphasizes the unique problems and health promotion needs of each age and stage of development. Separate chapters on each population - group, individual, family, and community - stress the unique issues faced when providing care to each group. Evidence-Based Practice boxes emphasize current research efforts and opportunities in health promotion. Hot Topics and Innovative Practice boxes engage students' interest by introducing significant issues, trends, and creative programs and projects in health promotion practice. Diversity Awareness boxes address various cultural perspectives and provide important information that needs to be considered in planning care. Case studies and care plans present realistic situations that challenge students to reflect upon important health promotion concepts. Think About It boxes dig deeper into the chapter topic and encourage critical thinking. Numerous pedagogical features such as objectives, key terms, and textual summaries highlight the most important concepts and terms in each chapter. NEW! Healthy People 2020 boxes include related goals and objectives for each chapter to address emerging health issues and health priorities over the next decade. NEW! Quality and Safety scenarios include examples and suggestions to encourage quality and safety in nursing. NEW! Redesigned Nutrition chapter highlights the new Dietary Guidelines for Americans and the MyPlate food guide. NEW! Standard headings in the growth and development chapters reinforce the concepts of Gordon's Functional Health Patterns.  

Leading and Managing in Nursing, 5th Edition -- Revised Reprint by Patricia Yoder-Wise successfully blends evidence-based guidelines with practical application. This revised reprint has been updated to prepare you for the nursing leadership issues of today and tomorrow, providing just the right amount of information to equip you with the tools you need to succeed on the NCLEX and in practice. Content is organized around the issues that are central to the success of professional nurses in today's constantly changing healthcare environment, including patient safety, workplace violence, consumer relationships, cultural diversity, resource management, and many more. ".. apt for all nursing students and nurses who are working towards being in charge and management roles." Reviewed by Jane Brown on behalf of Nursing Times, October 2015 Merges theory, research, and practical application for an innovative approach to nursing leadership and management. Practical, evidence-based approach to today's key issues includes patient safety, workplace violence, team collaboration, delegation, managing quality and risk, staff education, supervision, and managing costs and budgets. Easy-to-find boxes, a full-color design, and new photos highlight key information for quick reference and effective study. Research and Literature Perspective boxes summarize timely articles of interest, helping you apply current research to evidence-based practice. Critical thinking questions in every chapter challenge you to think critically about chapter concepts and apply them to real-life situations. Chapter Checklists provide a quick review and study guide to the key ideas in each chapter, theory boxes with pertinent theoretical concepts, a glossary of key terms and definitions, and bulleted lists for applying key content to practice. NEW! Three new chapters - Safe Care: The Core of Leading and Managing, Leading Change, and Thriving for the Future - emphasize QSEN competencies and patient safety, and provide new information on strategies for leading change and what the future holds for leaders and managers in the nursing profession. UPDATED! Fresh content and updated references are incorporated into many chapters, including Leading, Managing and Following; Selecting, Developing and Evaluating Staff; Strategic Planning, Goal Setting, and Marketing; Building Teams Through Communication and Partnerships; and Conflict: The Cutting Edge of Change. Need to Know Now bulleted lists of critical points help you focus on essential research-based information in your transition to the workforce. Current research examples in The Evidence boxes at the end of each chapter illustrate how to apply research to practice. Revised Challenge and Solutions case scenarios present real-life leadership and management issues you'll likely face in today's health care environment.

Learn how to evaluate and apply research with the #1 nursing research book! Understanding Nursing Research: Building an Evidence-Based Practice is known for its authoritative content, a time-tested step-by-step approach, and abundant use of research examples. With improved clarity and readability, the new edition strengthens its focus on evidence-based practice to better demonstrate how the steps of the research process relate to evidence-based nursing. Written by two of the leaders in the field of nursing research, Nancy Burns and Susan K. Grove, this full-color text offers unique insights into understanding, appraising, and applying published research to evidence-based practice.