Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Willis N. Hackney Library

PSY 371: Experimental Psychology

This guide is designed to direct students to resources they will find valuable in their research for PSY 371: Experimental Psychology.

Tips for Evaluating Articles for Relevance

To determine the relevance of a particular article quickly, do the following:
  • Skim the abstract (summary) of the article to help determine relevance.  (Hover over the hourglass icon in EBSCOhost databases to see it from the results list.)
  • Skim the introduction and the conclusion sections of the article to help determine relevance.  (Look at the full text of the article to see these sections.)
  • Skim the subject headings used to describe the article to help determine relevance.  (These are found in the results list and in the individual citation pages for each article.)

To Locate Databases by Subject, Title, Type, or Vendor

To search for resources by the discipline(s) they cover (e.g., Business, Education, History, Psychology, etc.), by type (books, e-books, magazine articles, primary sources, etc.), by the vendor who provides them (EBSCO, ProQuest, LexisNexis, etc.), or by title alphabetically (e.g., JSTOR, ERIC, ABI-INFORM, etc.), click on the following link:

Tips:  
  • Select the subject for which you want to find resources/databases from the drop-down menu in the "All Subjects" box on the top left of the page.  
    • Once your subject is chosen, the "recommended" database name(s) will appear in the yellow box.  These are good to start with for that subject/discipline, and are accessible by clicking on the database name.
    • All other resources associated with that subject will appear below the yellow box.
  • To search by Resource Type, click on the drop-down menu in the "All Resource Types" box and select your choice(s) from the options listed there.
  • To search by Vendors, click on the drop-down menu in the "All Vendors/Providers" box and select from the options listed there.
  • Still need help?  Try a Research Guide!

Journal Finder

Use Journal Finder to discover whether or not we have the full text of a journal, magazine, or newspaper in the date range that you need.  Type the title of the journal or other publication in the box below, and if we have it full text in a database or more, you will see the names listed there, along with the date range of the full-text coverage within each.  Click on the database that has what you need, and then navigate by year, then issue, then page number to find your article.

Psychology Scholarly Journal Databases

Top Psychology Journals