Hackney Library: GEN 300: General Guide: Specific Examples/Applications in MLA Style

Sample MLA-Style Papers

Taken from the MLA Style Center site, this link accesses sample papers formatted in MLA style's 8th edition.

MLA Formatting Quotations
The "Short Quotations" section of this page on the Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab) site explains how to use short quotations (fewer than four typed lines of prose) in the text of your paper.

Examples of how the documentation should look are listed to help you format the short quotation you choose to use in your paper.
Purdue OWL: Quoting, Paraphrasing, and Summarizing
This helpful page sorts out the differences in general between quoting another's work directly, paraphrasing it, and summarizing it--regardless of the citation style you choose.

Formatting an Annotated Bibliography in MLA Style
This handout describes how to format an annotated bib in MLA Style and includes several sample annotated bibliographies. Be sure to follow the directions of your instructor for formatting, as examples may differ.

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): Annotated Bibliographies
This helpful page from PurdueOWL explains the purpose of annotated bibliographies, what they often contain, and why they're helpful.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): Annotated Bibliography Samples
This page from PurdueOWL shows examples of annotated bibliographies in both MLA and APA styles--scroll to find the example for the style you're using. You should always follow your professor's instruction on how to format an annotated bibliography as preferences may differ.

Creating an Appendix in MLA Style
Even though the 8th edition of the MLA Handbook doesn't address creating appendixes, this document gives tips and examples for how to do so if you don't want to embed figures within the text of your paper.