Hackney Library: Greenfield Upper School Students: News & Newspaper Article Databases

When to Use (and When NOT to Use) Newspaper Articles

. . . if you're looking for very current news, analysis, and editorials (opinion pieces) on your topic (newspapers are typically published daily or weekly)
. . . if you're looking for very specific, narrowly-focused information about a particular event or action in a specific locale (local, national, or international)
. . . if you're looking for primary sources (direct or first-hand evidence of an event, person, object,, etc., written by participants, during the time period, or reflected in officials' quotes, in interviews, eyewitness accounts, speeches, etc.)

. . . if you're looking for current research by experts in the field on your topic
. . . if you're looking for a broad, comprehensive treatment of your topic in great detail that places your topic in historical context

The following sub-categories under this main page contain links to a variety of news and newspaper article resources.

In the left sidebar (you may have to scroll down to see them all):

The Multi-Newspaper Databases and Web Sites button links to searchable databases and web sites that search and provide access to many full-text news and newspaper articles.
The Newspaper Archives/Historic Newspapers button provides access to tools that allow you to search back issues of newspapers, including historical newspapers.
The Foreign-Language Newspapers button provides access to newspapers in languages other than English.
The Business News button contains links to databases that include business news and newspaper articles.
The North Carolina News button provides access to tools to locate articles about North Carolina.
The Legal/Political News button contains tools that provide legal and political news articles and information.
The General Article Databases that Include Newspapers button provide links to databases that, along with other kinds of articles, are searchable for newspaper articles as well.