It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Some of these resources are subscription databases that will prompt you for your Barton username and password for off-campus access, while others are simply links that require no passwords to access from off campus.
This special collection of maps at the University of Texas at Austin's Perry-Castaneda Library features links to internal and external sites, divided into two main sections: Online Maps of Current Interest (hot topics) and Online Maps of General Interest, broken down into geographic areas. Maps available include country, city, state, and historical maps and are drawn from U.S. government sites as well as other non-copyrighted sources. Most of these high-quality maps are easily printable.
North Carolina Maps is a comprehensive, online collection of historic maps of the Tar Heel State. Featuring maps from three of the state's largest map collections -- the North Carolina State Archives, the North Carolina Collection at UNC-Chapel Hill, and the Outer Banks History Center -- North Carolina Maps provides an unprecedented level of access to these materials. North Carolina Maps contains more than 3,000 maps, ranging in date from the late 1500s to 2000, and including detailed maps for each of North Carolina's one hundred counties.
Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) for North Carolina delivers detailed property and land-use records that depict the grid of everyday life in 158 North Carolina towns and cities across a century of change.
A collection from the Library of Congress's American Memory site, the Map Collections site provides high-quality map images of materials ranging from Civil War maps to panoramic views, plus the inclusion of a number of foreign maps. Arranged by general categories (such as Cities and Towns, Conservation and Environment, Discovery and Exploration, Cultural Landscapes, Military Battles and Campaigns, Transportation and Communication, and General Maps), the collection is searchable by Keyword and browseable in a number of ways as well, providing access to some resources not available elsewhere.