Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Willis N. Hackney Library

Social Studies

Other Social Studies Resources

The resources on this page consist of databases containing information other than articles (such as the slave narratives, maps, supreme court cases, statistics, etc.) and web sites (some scholarly, some not) that might prove helpful for research.  For web sites, always consult your instructor to make sure they'll be acceptable for scholarly research. The content of this page is sub-divided in the following ways:

  • The History Resources section on this page provides links to resources for North Carolina and American history, slave narratives, and genealogy information.
  • The Genealogy Resources section on this page provides access to family and local history records, census data, and more.
  • The Maps section on this page provides links to collections of local, state, national, and international maps. 
  • The Country/Region Information section on this page provides links to resources that provide country and regional profiles around the globe.
  • The World Affairs section on this page provides links to resources that provide geopolitical, economic, and geographic information and analysis.
  • The Politics and Government Resources section provides tools and links about U.S. and North Carolina history, elections, and international politics.
  • The Law and Court Case Resources section provides links to federal and North Carolina court opinions and legislation, and guides to legal information.
  • The Statistics section provides links to state, national, and international statistics.
  • The Civil Rights section provides links to databases containing primary source materials dealing with civil rights in the United States.

Click on the links in the left sidebar for the sub-categories to access the specific resources within each.