A-Z Resource List

First, use the Full Text Online facet circled in red in the sidebar of the following image to make sure that every result is available in the full text (this is supposed to be a given in One-Search's settings, but remember those glitches we talked about?  Sometimes this doesn't happen, so clicking on this facet should help).  Note that:

• When you click on the Full Text Online facet, it puts a green check next to it to let you know you've placed that limit on your search. 
• You'll also notice that the results circled in red after the full text limit was invoked are a little smaller than our previous results

​So your first use of a facet has filtered your results to only those in the full text and therefore has left you with fewer results than in your original set.  Next, we will limit by CONTENT TYPE.  Scroll down to the next section to learn about more facets that can help filter your search.

Now scroll down to see how to limit to Magazine articles.

Now you can further limit your search results to only those from a particular type of information source.  Under the CONTENT TYPE area in the sidebar, you see a few content types listed, including a More... link, circled in red in the screen shot below:

When you click on the More... link, it opens a panel with a host of other information type filters. 

Let's say you are only interested in magazines, not any other type of information source. 

Tip:  Magazines are good sources of information if you need something current (recent), easy to understand, and that gives you a quick snapshot overview of your issue.  However, it is NOT considered scholarly 

To limit your results to magazines only, click on the Magazine Article facet (circled in red) in the additional Content Type panel, which puts a darker green check mark next to it.  Then, you must go to the top to click the Apply (1) button (circled in red) to invoke this facet, as reflected in the screen shot below:

When you do so, you get a lot fewer results--198,767--and the limits we placed on this search (full text and magazines only) are shown  in green type with a green check mark (circled in red in the sidebar in the screen shot below):

There are other facets you can use to further limit your search results (by publication date, by discipline, by subject terms, etc.).  We won't explore those in this workshop, but they are available to you if you need them.

Now scroll down to learn how you can actually view the magazine articles in your search results list.

Now that you have a list of magazine articles in your results list, scroll down until you find one you want to view.  See the screen shot below for #19 in the list, "EPA Admits Animal Rights Groups," and click on the article title to view the article in the database where it resides:

Now that you've clicked on the title link, you will be taken out of the One-Search environment and into the database (in this case, from ProQuest) where this article can be viewed.  Notice in the screen shot below the different tabs circled in red--these allow you to view the article either in HTML format (full text) or in PDF format (which looks just like the print version with illustrations, etc.), as well as the option to view the abstract and various details about the article, depending on which tab you choose:

In addition, there are database tools in the box on the top right of the screen that allow you to download the article as a PDF; print, email, or save it; and get a citation for the article:

Now that you know how to limit to magazines, scroll down to see how to limit to e-books rather than magazine articles.

Let's say you want to limit your search on "animal rights" to e-books rather than magazine articles. 

Tip:  E-books (like their print counterparts) are usually considered scholarly sources, and they are very good for breadth, depth, and placing your topic in its historical context (such as "how did we get here from there" kinds of questions).  However, they are NOT the most current sources, because books take a lot longer to publish than other kinds of info sources.

To limit to e-books, do this:

• Remove the CONTENT TYPE limit from Magazine Article by clicking on the green check mark next to that limit in the sidebar, and that removes the limit (you'll see that your number of results goes back up)
• Then add the CONTENT TYPE limit for Book / eBook by clicking on it, and it will add the green check mark to show you that limit is active (Please note:  In our One-Search, the only kind of book you will find is an e-book--no print books are found in One-Search!). 
• Notice that to be on the safe side, the Full Text Online facet should stay put, so don't remove that.

See the screen shot below, noticing that the number of results (circled in red) has changed, and the CONTENT TYPE facet (circled in red in the left sidebar) is now in place (indicated by the green check mark):

Now scroll down to see how to actually view/read an e-book from your results list.

Just like you did with magazine articles, scroll down in your e-book results list until you see a title that you want to view.  Click on the title to enter the e-book database that contains that e-book (for example, #6, Going wild: hunting, animal rights, and the contested meaning of nature, circled in red in the screenshot below):

Again, clicking on the title will take you out of the One-Search environment and into the e-book database where you can view the book.  Notice the PDF Full Text Link, circled in red in the following screen shot.  Click on that link to see the actual content of the e-book:

Once you click on the PDF Full Text link, you will be taken into the e-book itself.  Notice the navigational tools in the book itself (Contents, Search within, My Notes) in the left sidebar, the content of the book itself in the right panel, and the database tools (Save, Email, Print, Cite, etc.) circled in red along the top.  These all help you navigate through the book and save and cite the portions you want to keep:

Now, let's recap what you've learned by looking at Step 4 in the left sidebar or at the bottom right.