A-Z Resource List

1. To begin your search across many databases for magazine and newspaper articles, do a "One-Search" search on the library's home page (or in the same search box below), and then in the left sidebar, uncheck any filters in the Content Type section except for "Newspaper Article" or "Magazine Article" (leave those checked).  This will weed out any other types of resources.  (Note:  Also leave checked the "Full Text Online" in the "Refine Your Search" section to make sure you can see the full text of the resources in your results list.)
2. You should now see in the left sidebar that both "Magazine Article" and "Newspaper Article" are highlighted by a green check mark.  This means that your results now contain articles from both magazines and from newspapers.

OR 

Use the link to the One-Search Advanced Search below to search for magazine and newspaper articles, and then scroll down and check "Magazine Article"  or "Newspaper Article" in the "Content type" box (this will limit your results to only those types of articles):

(Because of subscriber restrictions, these tools will require a Barton login for off campus access.)

You can start searching in one of two ways (and whichever way you choose, also limit to Full Text Online in the left sidebar):

1. To begin your search across many databases for scholarly, peer-reviewed articles, do a "One-Search" search on the library's home page, and then click the "Peer-Review" option on the sidebar filter under "Full Text Online" on the left to limit to scholarly journal articles.
2. Use the link to the One-Search Advanced Search below to search for scholarly (peer-reviewed) full-text journal articles directly using One-Search, and then check "Scholarly materials, including peer-reviewed" in the "Limit to" box:

(Please note that in addition to publishing research articles [the reports of research], scholarly, peer-reviewed journals sometimes publish other kinds of articles, such as book reviews, editorials, and short news stories.  Research articles are usually distinguishable by a lengthy list of references at the end.)

The ​Journal Finder tool will identify journals, magazines, and newspapers to which Hackney Library has full text access.

Tips:

• Type in the name of the journal or magazine whose articles you want to read in the full-text (for example, Nutritional Neuroscience).  Journal Finder will then tell you whether or not we have full-text access to that publication, and if so, in what database and for what dates.
• You may also browse Journal Finder for a list of journals, magazines, and newspapers on specific disciplines/topics by clicking in the "Browse by Subject" drop-down box and selecting the desired subject.

(For access to Journal Finder from off campus, log in with your Barton username and password.)

​Journal Finder will identify newspapers to which Hackney Library has full text access.

Tip:

• Type in the name of the newspaper whose articles you want to read in the full-text (for example, Wall Street Journal).  Journal Finder will then tell you whether or not we have full-text access to that publication, and if so, in what database and for what dates.

(For access to Journal Finder from off campus, log in with your Barton network username and password.)

Catalog Search

This resource from Gale/Cengage provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format.

Search the full text of all Gale Virtual Reference ebooks here:

To search for resources by the discipline(s) they cover (e.g., Business, Education, History, Psychology, etc.), by type (books, e-books, magazine articles, primary sources, etc.), by the vendor who provides them (EBSCO, ProQuest, LexisNexis, etc.), or by title alphabetically (e.g., JSTOR, ERIC, ABI-INFORM, etc.), click on the following link:

Tips:  

• Select the subject for which you want to find resources/databases from the drop-down menu in the "All Subjects" box on the top left of the page.  
  • Once your subject is chosen, the "recommended" database name(s) will appear in the yellow box.  These are good to start with for that subject/discipline, and are accessible by clicking on the database name.
  • All other resources associated with that subject will appear below the yellow box.
• To search by Resource Type, click on the drop-down menu in the "All Resource Types" box and select your choice(s) from the options listed there.
• To search by Vendors, click on the drop-down menu in the "All Vendors/Providers" box and select from the options listed there.
• Still need help?  Try a Research Guide!

• For parking in any Barton College lot, you will need to have your Barton/Wilson County Schools parking permit prominently displayed on your dashboard so that police officers on campus will know you are cleared to park in our lots.  (If you don't have a permit, please stop by the reference desk to pick one up.)
• If you happen to forget your parking permit and you are issued a parking ticket, bring it into the library and we will contact the police about rescinding the ticket.
• However, if you have parked in a no-parking or illegal parking spot, the police will not rescind your ticket and you will be responsible for paying any fines.

The Site Search

• To search within a single site, type site: + (the website you want to search) + (your search terms).
  • example: site:www.nrel.gov solar energy

The Domain Search

• Great for searching only government or foreign resources. Type: domain: + (the domain you want to search) + (your search terms)
  • example: domain:.eu renewable resources

Limiting your search

• After conducting a search, click on the tabs below the search bar to filter your search by content (e.g. shopping, maps, news, images, etc). Click "more" for additional content.
• "Settings" allows you to change the language Google uses, to go to an Advanced Search screen, view your search history, and get search help. 
• "Tools" allows you to limit by time . At the bottom of the page, Google provides and "Advanced Search" which has additional utilities. 

To determine the relevance of a particular article quickly, do the following:

• Skim the abstract (summary) of the article to help determine relevance.  (Hover over the hourglass icon in EBSCOhost databases to see it from the results list.)
• Skim the introduction and the conclusion sections of the article to help determine relevance.  (Look at the full text of the article to see these sections.)
• Skim the subject headings used to describe the article to help determine relevance.  (These are found in the results list and in the individual citation pages for each article.)

The following link to the NC Live Video Collection allows you to search their collection of streaming PBS videos by title, by collection, and by series on a variety of topics:

The following link to a database called "Films on Demand" allows you to search over 24,000 academic films on various topics.  Results include links to the sections within films that address those topics, as well as the name of the film from which the section is pulled.  You may also create your own customized playlists as well.

DO USE a book or e-book as your information source. . .

• . . . if you're looking for both breadth and depth on your topic
• . . . if you're interested in learning the story behind your topic and what has led up to it
• . . . if you're interested in placing your topic in broader context
• . . . if you're interested in learning about your topic in great detail

DO NOT USE a book or e-book as your information source. . . 

• . . . if you're looking for a quick overview of a complex topic
• . . . if you're looking for very current information (books take several years to publish, so by the time of publication, some of the data may be a year or more old)

Magazine Articles

DO USE a magazine article as your information source. . .

• . . . if you're looking for current information on your topic
• . . . if you're looking for a quick overview of a complex topic
• . . . if you're looking for a short, easy-to-understand, jargon-free summary of your topic (magazine articles may vary in length from less than a page to up to about 5 or 6 pages)

DO NOT USE a magazine article as your information source. . . 

• . . . if you're looking for current research by experts in the field on your topic
• . . . if you're looking for a broad, comprehensive treatment of your topic in great detail

Journal Articles

DO USE a journal article as your information source. . .

• . . . if you're looking for current research by experts in the field on your topic
• . . . if you're focusing on a very narrow, in-depth aspect of your topic

DO NOT USE a journal article as your information source. . . 

• . . . if you're looking for a broad, comprehensive treatment of your topic in great detail
• . . . if you're looking for a quick overview of a complex topic
• . . . if you're looking for a short, easy-to-understand, jargon-free summary of your topic (journal articles can be quite lengthy, running anywhere from 10 to 100 pages)