Databases for Full-Text Literature, Poetry, Primary Source Documents
These databases provide access to the full text of a variety of poems and literature, as well as primary source documents such as North American women's diaries and letters, and Southern slave narratives, novels, memoirs, etc.:
The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper.
Contains poems from 1750-1900 including Lucy Terry Prince, Phillis Wheatley, Jupiter Hammon, Paul Laurence Dunbar, and more.
The original ground-breaking Chadwyck-Healey collection, English Poetry contains essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th. Over 160,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets are drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources.
The Faber Poetry Library contains the works of 50 poets comprising 140 volumes of poetry. The authors are all part of the Faber Poetry list and the database enjoys the active support of the publisher and the poets or their estates. Authors covered include Simon Armitage, Rupert Brooke, Wendy Cope, T. S. Eliot, Lavinia Greenlaw, Thom Gunn, Seamus Heaney, Ted Hughes, David Jones, Louis MacNeice, Andrew Motion, Paul Muldoon, Tom Paulin, Sylvia Plath, Siegfried Sassoon, Stephen Spender and Edward Thomas.
Part of UNC-Chapel Hill's Documenting the American South site, the Library currently includes over 50 digitized complete texts of significant literary works of the South published up to 1920, including novels, memoirs, slave narratives, poetry and nonfiction no longer in print. Up to 100 digitized texts are planned.
Includes over 154,000 full-text pages of both previously published and unpublished letters and diaries of North American women from 1675 to 1950, the largest collection of women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled.
Literature and Literary Criticism Databases and Web Sites
An integrated research experience, Gale Literature brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. No other publisher offers this unmatched combination of uniquely rich literary content, dependable metadata, and intuitive subject indexing - all enriched by features and design that breathes new life into the study of literature. As Gale makes additional Literary Resources available through Gale Literature, and if your library has access to these products, they will be automatically added to the Gale Literature experience upon release.
The U.S. Department of State's Bureau of International Information Programs (IIP) supports the department's public diplomacy efforts by providing and supporting the places, content, and infrastructure needed for sustained conversations with foreign audiences. This website contains PDFs and print versions of books, pamphlets, postcards, and posters published by the IIP.
A website based in the English Department at the University of Minnesota, this site is dedicated to bringing together marginalized resources and knowledge about women writers and artists of color to serve secondary and college education across the world. It contains student-generated profiles, essays, reviews, and interviews that celebrating and document the creativity of Asian, Black, Latina, and Native women.