Hackney Library: History: Streaming Videos

Streaming Video Databases

The following databases contain documentary and educational streaming videos suitable as academic sources. In addition to screening the entire videos, Films on Demand and Kanopy enable the creation of clips or playlists of individual segments of each video (see the how-to documents beneath each for details). When accessing these from off campus, you will be prompted to enter your Barton login information.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of high-quality educational videos licensed from a long established educational media distributor. More than 24,708 videos cover a wide range of topics organized into multiple broad subjects. These subjects are then further divided into narrower subject. Individual segments subdivide each video into discrete shorter units. Subject areas include: anthropology, archival films & newsreels, area studies, art & architecture, biology, business, communication, computers & technology, criminal justice, earth science, education, english & language arts, environmental science, geography, health & medicine, history, mathematics, music & dance, philosophy & religion, physical science, political science, psychology, sociology, and world languages. Now also includes the NC Live Video Collection of online videos from PBS including Ken Burns documentaries, Masterpiece Theater, Scientific American, American Experience, and more.
Films on Demand: Just for Kids This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection which provides a thoroughly kid-safe, advertisement-free media platform. Includes the educational videos children want to watch—Sesame Street, The Electric Company, The Wubbulous World of Dr. Seuss, The Berenstain Bears, Franklin, and thousands more.

How to Embed Films on Demand Streaming Videos
This document explains how to embed links to entire streaming videos, video segments, and custom-created segments from the Films on Demand database. (When you click on the link, the document will be downloaded and you will need to click on it to open it.)

Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
Kanopy provides access to more than 26,000 documentary and feature-film titles, including those from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources, on every topic imaginable. After creating a personal account, individual users can create their own clips and playlists and embed them into learning management system course pages. The database is searchable by keyword and film title, as well as browsable by subject.

How to Embed Kanopy Streaming Videos
This document explains how to embed links to entire streaming videos and custom-created clips from the Kanopy database. (When you click on the link, the document will be downloaded and you will need to click on it to open it.)