Welcome to the LibGuide for Wilson County High School IB Students!

In the left sidebar (scroll down to see all the sections):

• The  Home section provides basic information about IB students' use of Hackney Library, including the contract that must be signed by all parties, use of computers in Hackney Library, on-campus parking instructions, circulation policies, etc.
• The Choosing the Best Information Sources section provides a link that takes you to a document that helps you determine what kind of info source (book, article, web site, etc.) will help answer your research questions.
• For help in creating your own Research Plan, see the Creating a Research Plan section.  This section includes a link to a sample Research Plan used in the library orientation, as well as a link to a blank plan that you can download and use with your own topics.
• The Book/e-Book Sources section contains information about searching the library catalog for books and e-books, as well as searching the e-book database directly.
• The Magazine/Journal Articles section contains tips for quickly evaluating relevant articles, databases for finding journal articles, and information on how to locate the full text of articles in journals, etc. (Journal Finder)
• The News & Newspaper Article Databases section contains links to online newspaper databases that provide access to local, regional, national, archival (historical), and topic-specific newspapers.
• The Interlibrary Loan section explains how we can borrow materials from other libraries for your use.
• The MLA Style Resources section contains tools to help you formulate your citations in MLA style.

If at any time you need assistance with your research, feel free to contact any reference librarian who is on duty in the library.  You also have access to help via telephone (252-399-6502) and email (reference@barton.edu).

• Use your library card to check out materials.
• You may check out up to 10 items at a time.
• Return your materials on time.
• Check out periods are usually for 28 days, with a few exceptions.
• You must bring your library item(s) and card with you to renew items. (Maximum of two renewals allowed.)
• Fines accrue at the rate of .05 cents per day.
• Overdue notices will be emailed to you.  Please do not ignore or delete them, as they refer to your overdue Hackney Library materials!

For more information about our circulation policies, see our circulation policies page.

Computer privileges and printing services are currently limited to Barton faculty, students, and staff due to limited availability of computers.

Hardwired Computers:

IB students can use the library's hardwired computers, but they must be logged in by a librarian.  Stop at the circulation or reference desks for assistance.

Library Laptops:

IB students are permitted to use the library's laptops, which can be checked out at the circ desk but need to be logged in by a librarian.

Personal Laptops:

Students may bring their own laptops for use on our wireless network.  Get the necessary password to log onto the wireless network from the reference librarian.

As a member of Hackney Library's borrowing community, you are permitted access to its online resources from off campus with a Barton login. The Barton username and password required for you to access online materials when not on campus is located on the back of your Barton IB library card.