(Because of subscriber restrictions, these tools will require a Barton login for off campus access.)

You can start searching in one of two ways (and whichever way you choose, also limit to Full Text Online in the left sidebar):

1. To begin your search across many databases for scholarly, peer-reviewed articles, do a "One-Search" search on the library's home page, and then click the "Peer-Review" option on the sidebar filter under "Full Text Online" on the left to limit to scholarly journal articles.
2. Use the link to the One-Search Advanced Search below to search for scholarly (peer-reviewed) full-text journal articles directly using One-Search, and then check "Scholarly materials, including peer-reviewed" in the "Limit to" box:

(Please note that in addition to publishing research articles [the reports of research], scholarly, peer-reviewed journals sometimes publish other kinds of articles, such as book reviews, editorials, and short news stories.  Research articles are usually distinguishable by a lengthy list of references at the end.)

Search the following general databases individually for current articles published in academic journals on many different topics.  (You will need to limit to "peer reviewed," "scholarly," or "refereed" to find only journal articles in these databases, as they contain articles from other kinds of publications like newspapers and magazines.)  

(Because of subscriber restrictions, these tools will require an IB Barton login for off campus access.)

Tips:

• To limit to full-text articles, check the "full text" limit.

•  See the "Journal Articles v. Magazine  Articles..." link in the Tips box to the left for an explanation of the differences between Journal and Magazine articles..

Search the following general databases individually for full-text archival (older) articles published in academic journals on many different topics (these databases do not contain current articles, they are always several years behind).  You will not need to limit to "peer reviewed," "scholarly," or "refereed" to find only journal articles, because these databases contain only journal articles.  

(Because of subscriber restrictions, these tools will require an IB Barton login for off campus access.)

Tips:

• To limit to full-text articles, check the "full text" limit.

•  See our Guide to the differences between Journal and Magazine articles.

To find discipline- or subject-specific article databases (among other things), click on the link below for a list of Subject Guides, then choose the subject (e.g., Psychology), and then click on the "Articles" link in the left sidebar.  There, you will find suggested databases that are specific to that particular subject.

To search for resources by the discipline(s) they cover (e.g., Business, Education, History, Psychology, etc.), by type (books, e-books, magazine articles, primary sources, etc.), by the vendor who provides them (EBSCO, ProQuest, LexisNexis, etc.), or by title alphabetically (e.g., JSTOR, ERIC, ABI-INFORM, etc.), click on the following link:

Tips:  

• Select the subject for which you want to find resources/databases from the drop-down menu in the "All Subjects" box on the top left of the page.  
  • Once your subject is chosen, the "recommended" database name(s) will appear in the yellow box.  These are good to start with for that subject/discipline, and are accessible by clicking on the database name.
  • All other resources associated with that subject will appear below the yellow box.
• To search by Resource Type, click on the drop-down menu in the "All Resource Types" box and select your choice(s) from the options listed there.
• To search by Vendors, click on the drop-down menu in the "All Vendors/Providers" box and select from the options listed there.
• Still need help?  Try a Research Guide!