Skip to main content

Finding Articles: What is Summon?

This guide will teach you everything you need to know about finding scholarly research and articles

What is Summon?

Summon is a search engine that provides credible, relevance ranked results from the library’s online and print collections in a single search.

It searches through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspaper articles, e-books, theses and dissertations, conference proceedings, and numerous academic databases.

Consider doing a Summon search when you might otherwise search Google Scholar or a research database like Academic Search Complete.  Summon is not intended to entirely replace these other search tools, but we hope that it will be a much-valued addition to your research toolkit.

Summon highlights

A single search

Provides a Google-like search experience, allowing researchers to use one search box to discover credible and reliable library content.

Links to full-text

Incorporates the comprehensive knowledge of your library's holdings so that researchers can access their results including full-text of electronic articles.

Results refinement

Easily navigate and narrow search result sets using multiple methods, such as filtering, faceting and sorting. Including Full Text and Peer-Reviewed filters.

Citation formatting

Quickly cut and paste citations in your preferred style.

"Did you mean?" suggestions

The intuitive Summon™ tool provides alternative guidance for misspellings or low yield queries.