Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hackney Library

Finding Articles Using One-Search (Summon)

This guide will teach you everything you need to know about finding scholarly research and articles using the One-Search Tool

What is One-Search (Summon)?

summon explanationSummon is a search engine that provides credible, relevance ranked results from the library’s online collections in a single search.  It is called "One-Search" on our library pages to indicate its ability to search multiple databases and sources all at once with a single search.

One-Search searches through a massive collection of e-books, scholarly journals, newspaper articles, theses and dissertations, conference proceedings, and numerous academic databases.

Consider using One-Search search when you might otherwise search Google Scholar or a research database like Academic Search Complete.  Because it is sometimes hard to customize a search using One-Search, it is not intended to entirely replace these other search tools where you have more control over your search, but it may be a good place to start to determine how much information is available on your topic.

One-Search (Summon) Highlights

A single search

Provides a Google-like search experience, allowing researchers to use one search box to discover credible and reliable library content.

Links to full-text

Incorporates the comprehensive knowledge of your library's holdings so that researchers can access their results including full-text of electronic articles.

Results refinement

Easily navigate and narrow search result sets using multiple methods, such as filtering, faceting and sorting. Including Full Text and Peer-Reviewed filters.

Citation formatting

Quickly cut and paste citations in your preferred style (after double-checking them against a trusted example first!).

"Did you mean?" suggestions

The intuitive Summon™ tool provides alternative guidance for misspellings or low yield queries.