Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Willis N. Hackney Library

Career Exploration

This guide provides tools and resources to help you identify careers you may be interested in and descriptions of them. It also provides resources to identify potential graduate programs in your field of interest.

Search for Online Scholarly Journal Articles

Scholarly journals can be good sources of information on job satisfaction or articles exploring cutting-edge trends or issues in particular professions.

Click on the link below to search for full-text, career-related articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.  

Suggested search terms:

  • "Careers" and "[your job title]" (e.g., Careers and high school teacher)
  • "Careers" and "[your discipline]"  (e.g., Careers and psychology)

To Locate Databases by Subject, Title, Type, or Vendor

To search for resources by the discipline(s) they cover (e.g., Business, Education, History, Psychology, etc.), by type (books, e-books, magazine articles, primary sources, etc.), by the vendor who provides them (EBSCO, ProQuest, LexisNexis, etc.), or by title alphabetically (e.g., JSTOR, ERIC, ABI-INFORM, etc.), click on the following link:

Tips:  
  • Select the subject for which you want to find resources/databases from the drop-down menu in the "All Subjects" box on the top left of the page.  
    • Once your subject is chosen, the "recommended" database name(s) will appear in the yellow box.  These are good to start with for that subject/discipline, and are accessible by clicking on the database name.
    • All other resources associated with that subject will appear below the yellow box.
  • To search by Resource Type, click on the drop-down menu in the "All Resource Types" box and select your choice(s) from the options listed there.
  • To search by Vendors, click on the drop-down menu in the "All Vendors/Providers" box and select from the options listed there.
  • Still need help?  Try a Research Guide!