Published by the U.S. Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics, this online tool offers information on hundreds of occupations and is updated yearly. It's a good place to go for general information on a wide-range of careers and vocations.

This web site, an interactive application for exploring and searching occupations, is linked to the Occupational Outlook Handbook but presents career information on a wide variety of jobs in a different way. It also lists various skills and helps you identify and explore which skills are useful in which careers or vocations.

Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. The database includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video. A revised and updated Career Skills section includes skill tips and exercises in these areas: communication, ethics and etiquette, finding a job, leadership, learning the ropes, organization, problem solving, research and information management, and teamwork.

ProQuest Career & Technical Education Database is the definitive source for vocational information. The database includes over 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text. Both students and instructors can access the database to research virtually any technical topic. Some subjects include: computer science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.